Homemade Laundry Detergent

Okay one more recipe for today! Another one I just made recently. So far it seems to be working out great! And its super cheap to make! Somewhere around 3 dollars and I think I should be able to do 32 loads? I haven’t figured it out quite yet.

You will need:

1 cup borax

1 cup washing soda

1 bar of soap (cheap and basic)

First you want to grate your bar of soap, I just used a cheese grater. Then pour in your borax and washing soda. Next mix it. I store mine in a zip lock baggy. I use 2 tbsps. of this per load. I also add a little vinegar to each load (I read that this can act as a natural fabric softener).

*I used a basic bar of dial for my first batch, but next time I plan to do some research and find something containing much less chemicals and organic, probably fragrance free too, since Lyla’s skin is so sensitive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. Lori says:

    That sounds pretty simple…..I’d like to know, as you continue using it, what your opinion is about it. I may give it a try!
    Back in the 70″s, when I was much younger, a lot of people tried this kind of thing out.
    Good luck on your adventure.

  2. melissa says:

    there is a great bar of soap out there that you might try its called “Fells Naptha” (sp?) it is intended for laundry and is great for stain removal on it’s own and my friend uses it in her laundry soap recipe

Leave a Reply

