Washing Hair or Not? Part 2

I have been wanting to update everyone on how my non-shampoo and conditioner routine has been going. In my last post I was using baking soda and apple cider vinegar. I did this for about 2 weeks, but my hair started feeling really strange and looking pretty greasy. So I started doing some research and found that other people who have naturally oil hair were also having problems with using the vinegar for a rinse. So I decided to switch up what I was doing.

Currently I have been using 3 tsps. of baking soda and adding just enough water to make a paste. I then scrub this into my scalp and let sit for a few minutes (I don’t put any on the ends of my hair because what washes down from the scalp should clean it). To help dissolve the baking soda I rinse my hair with hot water. Then to restore the pH balance in my hair I switched from the apple cider vinegar to lemon juice instead. I rinse with 2 tbsps. of lemon juice mixed into 1 1/2 cups of cold water. I let this sit for about 3-5 minutes and then rinse with cool water. I repeat this every 2-3 days just depending on how my hair is looking. From what I have been reading eventually I will be able to just use water once my hair naturally starts producing oils again.

This routine has been working great for me! And I haven’t noticed my hair appearing greasy at all. I have even noticed that my dandruff is starting to improve!

My main recommendation is to try a little of everything, to find what works best for you. Coconut oil works great for dandruff and as a moisturizer for hair but it will leave your hair greasy. I had to wash mine 2-3 times before I could get all the grease out.  And apple cider vinegar may work better for a rinse for some and for others the lemon juice. Just make sure that if you are using baking soda you rinse with something to help balance your hair’s pH back out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

